Metro Weekly

Coverboy: Pernell

It only takes one look at Pernell to tell he’s an Aries, thanks to the tattoo of the astrology sign on his arm. He’s also taken. The 20-year-old D.C. resident, who came out to his parents at 15, got engaged to his lover in February. They plan to tie the knot sometime in the coming months. In the meantime, Pernell is working at Metro TeenAIDS where he conducts outreach with the local LGBT community. He’s also studying child psychology online through Penn Foster College. When he’s not working or studying, Pernell likes to dance at Apex and Town Danceboutique.

What’s on your nightstand?
An alarm clock, sunglasses and a remote control.

What’s in your nightstand drawer?
A brush and some condoms.

What are your television favorites?
Fringe. That’s it right now.

What’s the last movie you saw in a theater?
Rio in 3D. I don’t really like animation movies but it was pretty good movie.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
Rugrats and Invader Zim.

What superhero would you be?
Jean Gray. She’s one of the hottest female superheroes and she has an alter ego, the Phoenix.

Who’s your greatest influence?
My father and my grandmother, my mother and my lover.

What’s your greatest fear?
Leaving this world and not accomplishing everything that I want to accomplish.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
My great-grandfather, my great-grandmother and probably my lover so he can meet them.

What would you serve?
The old family get-together meal: fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, greens, corn.

How would you describe your dream guy?
Caring, understanding, open-minded, knows how to communicate – and he knows how to manage his time between work and me.

What physical attributes do you look for in a guy?
You have to be in shape. Also the ability to communicate, be understanding and the ability to trust me.

Define good in bed.
For me to break out in a sweat.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Mya. She favors my mom a little bit.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Halle Berry and Jada Pinkett.

Who gets on your nerves?
My father.

If your home was burning, what’s the first thing you’d grab while leaving?
My photo album.

What’s your biggest turn-on?
A good kisser.

What’s your biggest turn-off?
Someone with bad personal hygiene.

What’s something you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t yet tried?
I’ve always wanted to go rock climbing. I’ve seen in movies how they go deep into mountains and I’ve always wanted to try that.

What’s something you’ve tried that you never want to do again?
Draw a picture of myself.

Boxers, briefs or other?

What’s your favorite retail store?

Who’s your favorite musical artist?
Floetry, Mya and Lil’ Kim.

What’s your favorite website?

What’s the most unusual place you’ve had sex?
In a bathroom.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Both catcher and pitcher.

What’s the most you’ll spend on a haircut?
I get it done for free.

What about on shoes?
I’m still in the kids’ sizes. I wear a 7, so I can get my shoes for under a $100.

What’s your favorite food to splurge with?
Strawberry cheesecake.

What’s your favorite season?
Summer, because I don’t like to wear clothes.

What kind of animal would you be?
A dragon. They’re fearless, ferocious and they have an attitude of not to be messed with.

What kind of plant would you be?
A rose. They’re beautiful, but they have the thorns. Also not to be messed with.

What kind of car would you be?
My favorite car is the newer Ferrari. It’s one of the most expensive cars and it’s so sleek.

What are you most grateful for?
Being alive.

What’s something you want more of?
More time in my day.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Live to never have regrets.