Metro Weekly

Winners of the 32nd Annual Rammy Awards

D.C. restaurant group honors the new and tried-and-true


The staff of Hanks Oyster Bar’s Dupont Circle location celebrate receiving the 2014 RAMMY award for Favorite Gathering Place of the Year. Photo by Troy Petenbrink

It was the Oscars of the D.C. area’s restaurant industry last night as local  food and beverage professionals and their fans gathered at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center for the 32nd Annual RAMMY Awards, presented by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington. Winners in 20 award categories were announced — honoring a number of established restaurants and individuals as well as many newcomers to the local culinary scene.

Added to this year’s program were seven new award categories, celebrating brunches, service programs, mixology and other definitive aspects of the greater Washington’s restaurant and food service industry.

The selection process for the winners involved two groups, the voting public and a panel of volunteer judges, consisting of food and dining journalists, educators and foodservice industry professionals who remained anonymous to the public as well as each other through the judging process. The voting public decided the winners in four categories: Favorite Gathering Place of the Year, Upscale Brunch, Everyday Casual Brunch and Favorite Fast Bites.

RAMW also presented its Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award to former RAMW president Lynne Breaux for her “dedication and leadership that has helped transform Washington’s restaurant scene into today’s vibrant world class industry.”

The winners of the 32nd Annual RAMMY Awards were:

*Denotes a new award for 2014.

Troy Petenbrink is Metro Weekly's contributing writer for food and travel. He can be reached at