Coverboy: Richie

A 20-year-old Cambodian native who likes French food, Celine, and dancing at Town

When Richie was born, peace had finally come to his native Cambodia after years of civil war, genocide and invasion. But his family – with their mix of French and Cherokee – was practically out the door, relocating to Northern Virginia in 1997. He still found strife in the form of high school bullying. ”It was very hard, kind of scary,” says the 20-year-old. “A lot of people would push me in the halls, call me ‘faggot.”’ Still, he’s got no regrets about coming out at 17. Today, the self-assured Richie is on a pre-med track by day and a Town go-go dancer by night.

What’s on your nightstand?
My cellphone, two bottles of water and my alarm clock.

What’s in your nightstand drawer?
Condoms, lube and old love notes.

What are your television favorites?
I love to watch MTV, Real World: San Diego. Mystery Diagnosis, Iron Chef.

Are you much of a cook?
Yes, I am.

Do you have a signature dish?
Yes, I do. Chicken breasts with orange-tarragon sauce.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
The Wild Thornberrys.

What superhero would you be?
I would be Robin, because I’m always a sidekick to my friends.

Who’s your greatest influence?
My friends and family. They taught me you don’t need anyone to be happy, to be yourself first.

What’s your greatest fear?I’m most afraid of losing people I care about.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Hillary Clinton, Queen Elizabeth – the current one – and Taylor Lautner.

What would you serve?
A three-course French menu. I would serve the chicken with orange-tarragon, asparagus with creamy mushroom sauce, and creme brulee.

How would you describe your dream guy?
Someone financially stable. Someone my height or a little taller – I’m 5’9″. Someone with a good personality and a sense of humor. Toned body. And he’s got to have a cute smile.

Define good in bed.
You have to be into each other mentally, physically and emotionally. If you don’t have all three, it wouldn’t be good. And kissing – I have to make out.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Taylor Lautner, because he’s also Cherokee and French.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Ryan Sheckler, the professional skateboarder.

Who gets on your nerves?
People who flaunt themselves as very rich. Conceited people. ”Barbie Doll” people.

If your home was burning, what’s the first thing you’d grab while leaving?
My cellphone.

What’s your biggest turn-on?
Eyes. I love any bright colors.

Coverboy: Richie

Coverboy: Richie

What’s your biggest turn-off?
When we’re dating and you don’t text me for a week.

What’s something you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t yet tried?
Travel the world with the person I love.

What’s something you’ve tried that you never want to do again?
Driving 38 hours to California with my best friends.

Boxers, briefs or other?
I live briefs, stuff that’s tight.

Who’s your favorite musical artist?
Celine Dion. She’s my favorite – since I was a little kid. My mom would sing her songs to me.

What’s your favorite website?
Trip Advisor.

What’s the most unusual place you’ve had sex?
In a car in a cemetery parking lot on our way to Virginia Beach. It was kinda creepy, but….

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
I’m a pitcher and a catcher.

What’s your favorite retail store?
Guess. Express for men. Armani Exchange. Coach. Hollister. Abercrombie & Fitch. Aldo. I love shopping.

What’s the most you’ll spend on a haircut?
Zero. I usually just buzz my own hair.

What about on shoes?
$300.

What’s your favorite food to splurge with?
Any type of French food.

What’s your favorite season?
Summer.

What kind of animal would you be?
A monkey. I’m fascinated by new things.

Like Curious George?
Yeah!

What kind of plant would you be?
A red rose. I’m loving and charming, fall in love easily.

What kind of car would you be?
An SS Camaro, the new one. Red, with black stripes.

What are you most grateful for?
Having my family and friends on my side.

What’s something you want more of?
I want more time and money.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Live life the way you want to live it.

Get the Best of Metro Weekly. Join Our Email List.

Subscribe now to get the latest news, features, incredible contests and special offers delivered daily to your in-box!

We respect your privacy and never share your email with a third party.