Metro Weekly

Coverboy: Philip

Born and raised in Phoenix, Philip lives in D.C. and works as a contract paralegal. The 34-year-old enjoys helping out Burgundy Crescent Volunteers at Food & Friends. He’s also continuing his paralegal education at Montgomery College, and hopes to pursue a second bachelor’s in legal studies soon. Philip is also an actor, performing frequently with Synetic Theatre, something he says he ”sort of fell into.” When out on the town, Philip likes to go to Town and Cobalt.

What’s on your nightstand?
It’s pretty small so there’s a lamp on it.

What’s in your nightstand drawer?
Condoms, lube, pens, change and bookmarks.

What are your television favorites?
The Dance Scene and So You Think You Can Dance.

What’s the last movie you saw in a theater?
Bridesmaids. I actually saw it twice. It’s hilarious.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
ThunderCats and also Tom and Jerry.

What superhero would you be?
Superman, because I would want to be able to fly.

Who’s your greatest influence?
Tori Amos. She went through a lot of crap and still came out on top and never lost sight of who she was along the way.

What’s your greatest fear?

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
The Obamas and Mary Magdalene.

What would you serve?
I’m not a cook. The food would be a lot less important than the conversation. Maybe sushi.

How would you describe your dream guy?
He would have to live up to his commitments, good communicator, good hygiene, pretty face, nice body – that sort of thing.

Define good in bed.
Someone who makes love and not just has sex. Attentive, gentle at times, rough at others.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Matthew Jaeger. I think he’s really attractive but also he has red hair. I normally have red hair. It’s black right now because of the show I did.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Scott Baio from Charles in Charles.

Who gets on your nerves?
People that can’t see the other side to a story, who aren’t willing to put themselves in other people’s shoes.

If your home was burning, what’s the first thing you’d grab while leaving?
Any people and pets that are still in the house.

What’s your biggest turn-on?
I’m really a sucker for a guy with a pretty face and an air of mystery.

What’s your biggest turn-off?|
Someone who’s not aware of their hygiene, or who doesn’t care about themselves enough to take care of themselves. That includes smoking or getting sloppy drunk.

What’s something you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t yet tried?
Training for and running a marathon.

What’s something you’ve tried that you never want to do again?
Karaoke. It was not for me.

Boxers, briefs or other?

Who’s you’re favorite musical artist?
Lady Gaga.

What’s your favorite website?

What’s the most unusual place you’ve had sex?
I seem to have sex in cars quite a bit – moving, at rest stops, or on the road.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Catcher. I tried pitching. It doesn’t work for me.

What’s your favorite retail store?
Universal Gear.

What’s the most you’ll spend on a haircut?

What about on shoes?

What’s your favorite food to splurge with?

What’s your favorite season?
Spring, because I like the temperature when it’s cool but not hot. I also like the new life coming back from the winter.

What kind of animal would you be?
I had two exes nickname me ”bunny,” but I’d probably be some rich lady’s lapdog.

What kind of plant would you be?
A Gerber daisy. I really like that flower. They’re those really bright colorful ones.

What kind of car would you be?
A car that runs on seawater, that doesn’t require a lot of maintenance and it’s really reliable.

What are you most grateful for?
My family and friends.

What’s something you want more of?

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Live life while you can and love first always.