Metro Weekly

Coverboy: Andrew

Aspiring vocal artist

Andrew must have been fated to be in the spotlight. The 24-year-old aspiring opera singer started out as a math major in college, but switched disciplines after a chorus professor suggested auditioning to become a voice major. Ever since, Andrew has pursued a singing career while working as a health care consultant, contractor and booking agent to pay the rent. He has performed at local churches, sung with the University of Maryland orchestra, interned with the Central City Opera in Denver for the past three summers, and continued auditioning for that big break – a permanent position or coveted apprenticeship with a large opera company. Most of Andrew’s nights and weekends are heavily booked, so you’re more likely to see him onstage than out on the town. When he does have a free night, you might catch a fleeting glimpse of this Logan Circle resident at Number Nine, West End Bistro, Nellie’s or Town.

What’s on your nightstand?
A bunch of remotes, tissues and a picture of my family.

Coverboy: Andrew

Coverboy: Andrew

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What’s in your nightstand drawer?
The usual suspects.

What are your television favorites?
Desperate Housewives, White Collar, RuPaul’s Drag Race. Sometimes The Real Housewives. Nothing too intense.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

What superhero would you be?
Storm. I love those movies, and I think she has coolest powers of any of the X-Men.

Who’s your greatest influence?
Either my mom or my grandma, just because they’re very selfless people. I get texts from them every day telling me how much they love me.

What’s your greatest fear?
Spiders. Specifically daddy-long-legs. I hate them so much.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Mariah Carey. She’s been my favorite signer since I was a little kid, and I’m mildly obsessed with her. Also Oprah and Serena Williams.

What would you serve?
I don’t cook. We would go somewhere. Oprah would pay.

How would you describe your dream guy?
Good-looking, intelligent, very thoughtful, someone who’s always looking to impress you or show you they care. Somewhat outgoing, willing to be an adventurous person.

Define good in bed.
My boyfriend.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
I have the biggest crush on William Levy right now. So we’ll just say him because he’s gorgeous.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Some soap-opera star. He’s probably not even a celebrity.
I used to watch Days of Our Lives with my grandmother.

Who gets on your nerves?
Canvassers. Those people that stop you on the street. They block my way when I’m trying to walk to work. I just hate it.

If your home was burning, what’s the first thing you’d grab while leaving?
My MacBook.

What’s your biggest turn-on?
Good kissing. And “funderwear” — jockstraps, different types of underwear.

What’s your biggest turn-off?
Feet. I hate feet. I don’t want to be touched by them; I don’t want to touch them.

What’s something you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t yet tried?
It probably involves travel. I want to go to Mexico or South America. I’d love to go backpacking through Europe.

What’s something you’ve tried that you never want to do again?
Roller coasters. I get extremely sick, like violently ill.

What’s your favorite website?
I love You can sit there all day, and it’s just the most random collection of texts you would never want to send to your mom.

What’s the most unusual place you’ve had sex?
School bus? Rooftop? No, I can’t think of anything.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Oh, Lord. Centerfield or second base. Whoever’s in the middle. I like to be able to go any direction.

What’s your favorite retail store?
Sephora or Nordstrom.

What’s the most you’ll spend on a haircut?

What about on shoes?

What’s your favorite food to splurge with?
In terms of calories or price?

I love ice cream. My favorite food in the world is Pinkberry, and I cover it with fatty, awful things, and tell myself it’s healthy.

What’s your favorite season?
Spring and summer. I love the beach. The pools open up, and that kind of stuff.

What kind of animal would you be?
A tiger. I just think they’re cool. They’re rare. They’re pretty. People have always told me I look like a possum, though, and I hate it.

What kind of plant would you be?
A tulip. I think they’re very pure. It’s my favorite flower, even though they don’t last that long.

What kind of car would you be?
Definitely an Audi.

What are you most grateful for?
My friends.

What’s something you want more of?
Shoes, clothing, cologne.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Do what makes you happy.