Metro Weekly

Orbo & The Longshots: Rootsy-rock Norwegian-style

The Norwegian quintet, Orbo & the Longshots, just released “Highway Tears,” their new single and video. The band, described as “rootsy rock,” will release its first U.S. album on May 22. So far their tour is taking them to Music City Roots in Nashville, Tenn., on May 23 and to DelFest in Cumberland, Md. on May 27. More dates to be announced soon.

The quintet takes its names from the initials of the group’s charismatic founder, guitarist and frontman, Ole Reinert Berg-Olsen. He’s joined by Longshots Ine Tumyr (vocals, percussion), Reidar Opdal (piano, vocals) Paul Inge Vikingstad (bass) and Stian Tumyr (drums).

Prairie Sun is the group’s sixth album, but the first released in the U.S. According to the group, “We play rock ‘n roll with a rootsy American twist-some gospel, some country, blues and more-and this time out, we found a way to blend the way we sound live and the way we sound in the studio on one album.”

Purchase the song from iTunes here.

Randy Shulman is Metro Weekly's Publisher and Editor-in-Chief. He can be reached at