Metro Weekly

Supreme Court declines to hear same-sex marriage cases

U.S. Supreme Court. Credit: Gouldy99/flickr.

U.S. Supreme Court. Photo: Gouldy99/flickr.

The U.S. Supreme Court declined to hear cases challenging same-sex marriage bans in five states, thus legalizing same-sex marriage in those states.

In an order list released Monday morning, the high court announced they would not grant petitions asking the court to weigh in on five lower court rulings that struck down same-sex marriage bans in Utah, Oklahoma, Virginia, Indiana and Wisconsin. In so doing, the high court also will not weigh in on the constitutional questions raised by those five cases, including whether same-sex couples nationwide have a right to marry. 

It would also appear that same-sex marriage will be legal in the circuits that include those five states, bringing the number of states that permit same-sex marriage to a majority.  According to the Human Rights Campaign, the move leaves in place the circuit court rulings from the 4th, 7th and 10th Circuits, meaning couples in West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Kansas, Colorado and Wyoming will soon be able to marry as well. It is not yet clear when same-sex marriages may begin in those states.

Related stories:

The Supreme Court’s surprise “watershed moment” for marriage equality

Ted Cruz lashes out at the Supreme Court over same-sex marriage

Marriage equality is now the law in Colorado

Feed Your Email
News, Reviews, Contests, Coverboy, Discounts and More!

Metro Weekly's Emails are a great way to stay up-to-date with everything you want to know -- and more!


Justin Snow is Metro Weekly's former political editor and White House correspondent. Follow him on Twitter @JustinCSnow.

Leave a Comment: