Coverboy: Devin

Devin came to Washington in 2009 from Micronesia, where he was serving in the Peace Corps, to accept a job as chemistry teacher. The 29-year-old Raleigh, N.C., native instructs 10th graders at a high school in Anacostia. When not consumed by the periodic table of elements, Devin enjoys the great outdoors and has participated in one marathon and seven triathlons. The self-proclaimed ”nerd” also enjoys reading and video games. When it comes to D.C.’s nightlife, Devin doesn’t really have a favorite spot, but he does enjoy parties like Homo/Sonic, Mixtape and Peach Pit.

What’s on your nightstand?
I don’t own a nightstand.

Where do you keep the condoms and lube?
In another part of the house. I just moved so I haven’t had a chance to figure out where everything goes.

What are your television favorites?
I love Modern Family, that show is great. I like American Dad. It’s ridiculous and I do a great Roger impression.

What’s the last movie you saw in a theater?
Como La Lluvia. It was pretty good.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
Thundercats.

What superhero would you be?
Spider-Man, because he’s a science geek, super cool and also acrobatic.

Who’s your greatest influence?
My mom and my dad. They’re amazing people and they did everything they could to raise me well.

What’s your greatest fear?
I’m scared of losing my mind. Like going into some vegetative state, not being able to communicate.

Who or what gets on your nerves?
Last-minute changes.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
My dad, because I’d love to see him again. My mom, because she would want to be there with my dad. And the Dalai Lama, because he can give me advice on these times.

What would you serve?
I’d probably order in from this place called Soul Veg. I’m not a vegan or vegetarian, but I love that kind of food. It’s so delicious.

Boxers, briefs or other?
Boxer-briefs.

What’s your favorite retail store?
H&M.

How would you describe your dream guy?
He would have to be kind, smart and caring. Those are the deal breakers.

What physical attributes do you look for in a guy?
I don’t have a type. I’m all over the place. Short, tall, black, Asian – it doesn’t matter.

Define good in bed.
Being responsive to your partner.

Who is your favorite musical artist?
Ray LaMontagne. I’ve seen him in concert and he puts on an amazing show.

What’s your favorite website?
Newyorktimes.com.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Macaulay Culkin.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Paula Abdul. I loved her so much.

What’s your biggest turn-on?
Smarts.

What’s your biggest turn-off?
Rudeness for no reason.

What’s something you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t yet tried?
Mountain climbing. It’s another endurance sport.

What’s something you’ve tried that you never want to do again?
Eating dog. I was in the Peace Corps. It was gross.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Umpire. It means I don’t have one specific position that I have to subscribe. I play both catcher and pitcher, whatever pleases my partner most.

What’s the most you’ll spend on a haircut?
$200.

On a pair of shoes?
$150.

What’s your favorite season?
Fall. I love the clothes and I love the food.

What’s your favorite food to splurge with?
Food at this place in Eastern Market called Montmartre.

What kind of animal would you be?
Ocelot. It’s like a cat. They’re really cool and have good energy.

What kind of plant would you be?
I keep jumping back and forth between a Christmas tree and a redwood. Christmas trees have so much joy. With a redwood, I have red hair and they’re powerful and kind of cool.

What kind of car would you be?
A Lamborghini. I have a flashy personality.

What something you want more of?
Time. I don’t have enough. My life is super busy.

What are you most grateful for?
To have great friends and family.

What’s your dream job?
I’m really satisfied with teaching.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Live, love and laugh.

Join Our Email List!

Our daily emails are personally curated by our editors and feature a wide range of news, features, reviews and interviews. Don't miss out on any of our award-winning content -- from news to arts, cars to tech, food to fitness, we've got a bit of it all!

  • Breaking News!
  • Feature highlights and reviews!
  • Win DVDs, CDs & Tickets to Shows!
  • Special Ticket Discounts!

Join Our Email List!

Our daily emails are personally curated by our editors and feature a wide range of news, features, reviews and interviews. Don't miss out on any of our award-winning content -- from news to arts, cars to tech, food to fitness, we've got it all!

  • Breaking News!
  • Feature highlights and reviews!
  • Win DVDs, CDs & Tickets to Shows!
  • Special Ticket Discounts!