Coverboy: David

Full of Civic Pride

Photography by Julian Vankim
Published on March 1, 2013, 9:38am | Comments

David is determined to make the most of his time in D.C., the city he claims he ''fell in love'' with when he moved here three years ago. This 25-year-old Oklahoma native admits to partaking in ''nerdy'' activities like taking tours and visiting art galleries. He's also a fan of D.C.'s vibrant local music scene, which takes him to places like the 9:30 Club, the Black Cat and U Street Music Hall. While he's a regular visitor to Masa 14 for brunch, you may also catch him taking advantage of the happy hour specials at the Westend Bistro at the Ritz, Number Nine or Nellie's.

Coverboy: David

Coverboy: David

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's on your nightstand?
An iPad, magazines and a charcoal drawing of a man's torso that I picked up at New York Pride. It was my first ''big city'' gay pride.

What's in your nightstand drawer?
Sunglasses – a ridiculous amount of them. I save things like concert ticket stubs, maps and assorted things. But I'm not a pack rat. My house is spotless, but that drawer is my one place for saving and storing things.

Where do you keep the condoms and lube?
The bottom drawer of the nightstand.

Coverboy: David

Coverboy: David

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What are your television favorites?
Girls
. I love American Horror Story and Lost, even though it's not on anymore. I also like a gay Web series, The Outs. It's like the gay version of Girls.

What superhero would you be?
I really don't like superheroes, so none.

Who's your greatest influence?
My mom. Growing up, she always taught me how to have a strong work ethic. She's outspoken. She always told me to be myself, to be opinionated, but still respect other people's differences.

What's your greatest fear?
I sometimes fear what will happen if I never meet someone, settle down or get married.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
James Franco, Lena Dunham and Courtney Love. I've been obsessed with her since middle school. She'd be a really creepy guest to have at dinner.

What would you serve?
Tapas and Champagne. I'm not a good cook.

How would you describe your dream guy?
Someone taller than me. I love dark hair and dark eyes. I like someone who is spontaneous, thoughtful, driven, educated.

Define good in bed.
Someone that I have a spark with, who understands what I want and that I understand what they want.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Jake Gyllenhaal.

Who gets on your nerves?
I hate when I'm in a restaurant and people are rude to the wait staff. I hate guys that use the term ''straight-acting'' to describe themselves.

Coverboy: David

Coverboy: David

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your biggest turn-on?
Chest hair. And a good smile.

What's your biggest turn-off?
Bad breath. Guys who are super shy.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
I want to go scuba diving. I was in Jamaica and went snorkeling for the first time. So I'd like to try scuba diving.

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
Dated someone who wasn't out to his family, friends or co-workers.

Boxers, briefs or other?
Briefs.

Who's your favorite musical artist?
I'm addicted to Grimes.

What's your favorite website?
Queerty and Huffington Post.

Coverboy: David

Coverboy: David

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's the most unusual place you've had sex?
On a fire escape in the back of my apartment on the Fourth of July.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Catcher.

What's your favorite retail store?
I go to H&M way too much, even though it's super cheap.

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?
$45.

What about on shoes?
$125.

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
I love going to those restaurants that are really fancy, going with my friends for no special reason other than to get dressed up, catch up and have a good meal.

What's your favorite season?
Spring. There's just something about when all the flowers are blooming and the weather is nice.

What kind of animal would you be?
A whale, maybe. They're so huge and beautiful and elusive.

What kind of plant would you be?
Something useful, like basil. You can add it to something to make it taste great.

What kind of car would you be?
The first and only car I bought was a Nissan Versa hatchback, so I'd probably be that.

What are you most grateful for?
Getting the scholarship to go to college that paid for almost everything. It really opened the door to so much more for me.

What's something you want more of?
I want to date more.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Treat others how you want to be treated.


Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace