Coverboy: Allen

Fashion Forward

Photos by Julian Vankim
Published on April 12, 2013, 3:06pm | Comments

He may not be part of Jem and the Holograms, but Allen could be considered an expert in glamour, glitter, fashion and fame. The 22-year old Charlottesville, Va., resident works in the cosmetics field for industry giants Chanel and Laura Mercier, and does freelance makeup artistry for parties and special events in his spare time. ''Whenever I go out shopping, I always hit up the cosmetics counters to check out the latest trends or products,'' he says. When he's not ankle-deep in moisturizer and mascara, this former gymnast likes to practice his tumbling and stay in shape at ''cheer gyms.'' Because he loves to dance, when he's in D.C. you're most likely to catch Allen at Secrets or Town.

What's on your nightstand?
A picture of my boyfriend and me, my iPod dock, a snack of some sort.

Coverboy: Allen

Coverboy: Allen

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's in your nightstand drawer?
My underwear, socks, condoms and lube.

What are your television favorites?
Smash, The Walking Dead and RuPaul's Drag Race.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
Sailor Moon and Zoids.

What superhero would you be?
Storm. She was my favorite of the X-Men and I thought her ability to control the weather was awesome.

Who's your greatest influence?
Probably my grandmother. I was always known as a ''grandmother's boy.'' She pretty much raised me. I spent more time at her house than my own when I was younger.

What's your greatest fear?
Spiders and heights. I can do roller coasters or planes, but I'd never go up in the Eiffel Tower or anything like that.

Coverboy: Allen

Coverboy: Allen

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Lisa Lampanelli, my boyfriend and Katherine McPhee. I've always wanted to meet Katherine. She just seems like a very genuine and sweet person.

What would you serve?
Chili. I love chili.

How would you describe your dream guy?
Asian. I love Asian guys. I like a guy who's shorter than me, which rarely happens because I'm only 5'7. A nice smile. One of the first two things I look at on a guy are his teeth and hands.

Define good in bed.
Someone who knows what they want.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Elijah Wood. I was always told I looked like him growing up.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Adamo Ruggiero.

Who gets on your nerves?
Somebody who's indecisive – like me.

If your home was burning, what's the first thing you'd grab while leaving?
My cat and my iPhone.

What's your biggest turn-on?
Asian guys in general.

Coverboy: Allen

Coverboy: Allen

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your biggest turn-off?
Bad teeth. No matter how good looking a guy is, it's a huge turn-off.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
Leave the country. I want to go to Egypt or Japan.

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
Allow myself to get so wrapped up in a relationship that I forget about my friends.

Boxers, briefs or other?
Briefs or boxer-briefs.

Who's your favorite musical artist?
Katherine McPhee.

What's your favorite website?
YouTube or Facebook.

What's the most unusual place you've had sex?
In the parking lot of my middle school, and in a dressing room at a Calvin Klein store.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?

What's your favorite retail store?
Armani Exchange. I can't help but buy something every time I go in there.

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?

What about on shoes?

Coverboy: Allen

Coverboy: Allen

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
Nothing is really a splurge for me, but I really love pork-barbecue sandwiches.

What's your favorite season?
Summer. I love being at the beach, outdoors, in the sun.

What kind of animal would you be?
A Savannah. It's the largest domesticated cat, but it has wildcat background. I'd really want to be one.

What kind of plant would you be?
Just because I think they're kind of badass, I'd be a Venus flytrap.

What kind of car would you be?
A Nissan 350Z.

What are you most grateful for?
My family. They've been really accepting and generous.

What's something you want more of?
I guess I just wish I had more spare time to spend doing things besides working and balancing that with my boyfriend's class schedule.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
They won't remember what you said, but how they felt.

Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace