Coverboy: Andres

Enjoying life's simple joys

Photography by Julian Vankim
Published on April 18, 2013, 6:35pm | Comments

Uncomplicated, yet exciting. That's the mantra to keep in mind when trying to impress or turn the head of Andres, a 23-year-old Puerto Rican native who moved to D.C. just last year. A full-time server and bartender at Level One and Cobalt, Andres is also pursuing his bachelor's degree in communications and political science at Trinity Washington University. Andres loves going to dinner, to the movies, partying, dancing, going to the gym and traveling – basically, keeping an active lifestyle. But that doesn't mean any activities have to bear an expensive price tag. ''I'm very passionate about everything I do,'' he says. ''The simplest things can bring me joy.''

What's on your nightstand?
A picture of my family back home, a Buddha next to a Holy Cross, a money tree for good luck, a little blue plate shaped like an ashtray with eagle and bird designs that was given to my mother on her wedding day.

Coverboy: Andres

Coverboy: Andres

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's in your nightstand drawer?
Not much. The essentials. My money, my wallet, my watch, my cards, my checkbook and my ChapStick.

Where do you keep the condoms and lube?
Bottom drawer of my nightstand. There are also some in my bathroom. They're everywhere.

What are your television favorites?
Queer as Folk, Will & Grace, The West Wing.

What superhero would you be?
Flash. He's a little mysterious and flirty, like me. Plus, I have a lot of energy. I'm always running around.

Who's your greatest influence?
Definitely my mother. She's a strong woman who has sacrificed a lot for her family. Also my very first boss back home. She knew I was living on my own, and helped me a lot. She was also very accepting of me when I came out.

What's your greatest fear?
Letting people down.

Coverboy: Andres

Coverboy: Andres

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Harvey Milk. That would represent my political side. Mother Theresa, to represent my loving, caring side. And DJ Joe Gauthreaux. He'd represent my party, festive side.

What would you serve?
To make the dinner more awkward, I'd make a Puerto Rican dish. Like white rice and beans, or a nice slab of meat.

How would you describe your dream guy?
He has to have a spark in his eyes or a desire when he looks into mine. I'd like him to be passionate, and aware of the world around him. Someone who'd like to settle down with me, have children. He has to smell good, not with perfume, though.

Define good in bed.
Honest and sincere. Quiet nights are the best. When you can just stare at both of you, naked in bed. That's when the fireworks happen.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Cam Gigandet.

Who gets on your nerves?
People who display ignorance or bigotry.

If your home was burning, what's the first thing you'd grab while leaving?
My duffel bag with gym clothes, work clothes, cologne, a wallet. Basically everything I need is in there.

What's your biggest turn-on?
Big, sexy hands that can hug me.

Coverboy: Andres

Coverboy: Andres

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your biggest turn-off?
Boring people.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
The violin.

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
Giving up on myself.

Boxers, briefs or other?
Briefs and trunks.

Who's your favorite musical artist?
Kylie Minogue. She's the best, a musical goddess. I just love her.

What's your favorite website?
Facebook. I also like a Spanish-language site, Lasnoticias.com.

What's the most unusual place you've had sex?
On top of a piano in the National Conservatory of Music in Puerto Rico, while class was in session.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
I play every position. If not, it gets boring, ordinary and predictable.

What's your favorite retail store?
Zara.

Coverboy: Andres

Coverboy: Andres

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?
$150. I sometimes just like pampering myself.

What about on shoes?
$250.

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
All food can be a splurge.

What's your favorite season?
Summer. It's always a party, with a less structured schedule.

What kind of animal would you be?
The elephant. He can be very big and majestic, but also very sweet and gentle.

What kind of plant would you be?
I would say the flamboyan, a tree back home. It's very big. It comes in yellow and red.

What kind of car would you be?
A Mercedes. It's very efficient and very classy.

What are you most grateful for?
My family and their support. My friends here. I'm very happy.

What's something you want more of?
To travel more, more experiences to learn about other people and other cultures.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Serve other people.


Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace