Coverboy: Khoa

Fashionista In Training

Photography by Julian Vankim
Published on October 19, 2013, 10:04am | Comments

Born in Vietnam, now in Springfield, Coverboy Khoa has dreams of making it big in the fashion industry. The 22-year-old receptionist for his family's nail salon is already learning how to sew as he applies to fashion school in New York. Describing himself as a ''regular Asian guy,'' Khoa's likes include going out to eat with friends, watching comedies on the big screen and going clubbing on the weekends. If you want to catch him out on the town, your best bets would be JR.'s, Cobalt or Nellie's, though if he's in a dancing mood, the final destination is most likely Town.

Coverboy: Khoa

Coverboy: Khoa

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's on your nightstand?
My wallet, my iPad, my phone, a lamp, eye drops, stuff I need.

What's in your nightstand drawer?
A lot of stuff.

Where do you keep the condoms and lube?
In the top drawer of my nightstand.

What are your television favorites?
I used to like Ugly Betty. Now I guess it's Pretty Little Liars.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
I watched a lot of programs on the children's educational channels. We didn't have cable. I guess my favorite program was Arthur.

Who's your greatest influence?
My mom. She's always there for me. She understands me a lot, and she's a great influence because she takes care of the whole family.

What's your greatest fear?
Crazy people. Reptiles. Even frogs, though they're not reptiles.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Lady Gaga, Tyra Banks and Ellen.

What would you serve?
Vietnamese food. And a lot of vodka and drinks.

Coverboy: Khoa

Coverboy: Khoa

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

How would you describe your dream guy?
Tall, understanding, good-looking. My type is white, average build.

Define good in bed.
Passionate. Sweaty.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
I don't know. There's not a lot of mainstream Asian actors in Hollywood.

What would the title of that movie be?
I hope to be a famous fashion designer, so maybe something like King of Fashion? Inspiration?

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Chris Evans from Captain America.

Who gets on your nerves?
People who are ignorant or hateful.

If your home was burning, what's the first thing you'd grab while leaving?
My phone and my wallet.  

What's your biggest turn-on?
A guy with a big chest and shoulders.

What's your biggest turn-off?
Somebody who thinks they're all that, or somebody who comes off as not nice or who makes bitchy comments.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
Take a tour around Europe.

Coverboy: Khoa

Coverboy: Khoa

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
Paddleboats. I was on one and I got stuck in the middle of the lake. And I can't swim

Boxers, briefs or other?

Who's your favorite musical artist?
My favorite is Lady Gaga. Then Lana Del Ray, then Katy Perry and Adele.

What's your favorite website?

What's the most unusual place you've had sex?
In a car.

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
I don't care. I could be pitcher or catcher. I do both.

What's your favorite retail store?

What's the most you've ever spent on a piece of clothing?
Close to $200.

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?
I usually cut my own hair, but when I have someone else cut it, about $15.

What about on shoes?

Coverboy: Khoa

Coverboy: Khoa

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
McDonald's or Chipotle.

What do you put on your Chipotle burrito?
Beans, chicken, rice, cheese, sour cream, lettuce, corn. Sometimes guacamole. I don't eat tomatoes. I hate them.

What's your favorite season?
Fall and winter. It's nice and cool. I don't like the heat.

What kind of animal would you be?
I'd be a panda. It's a rare creature, and it's cute.

What kind of plant would you be?
An orchid.

What kind of car would you be?
A BMW, because I've always wanted one. I don't really care about cars, though. 

What are you most grateful for?
My life, in general. My friends, family, supportive people around me.

What's something you want more of?
Money, but I've got to work for that.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Be yourself.

Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace