Hyman S. & Freda Bernstein Jewish Literary Festival

Sunday, Oct. 6, to Wednesday, Oct. 16


Sunday, October 6

E.L. Doctorow
Andrew’s Brain: A Novel
Montgomery College Cultural Arts Center
7995 Georgia Ave., Silver Spring
7-8:30 p.m.
$30

Monday, October 7

Man of Mystery: Walter Mosley
Presented with Moment Magazine
Little Green
Washington DCJCC
1529 16th St. NW
7:30-9 p.m.
$18

Tuesday, October 8

Mark Cohen
Overweight Sensation: The Life and Comedy of Allan Sherman
The Chaim Kempner Author Series
Washington DCJCC
7:30-9 p.m.
$12

Wednesday, October 9

Jeremy Dauber
The Worlds of Sholem Aleichem: The Remarkable Life and Afterlife of the Man Who Created Tevye
The Bernard Wexler Lecture on Jewish History
Washington DCJCC
7:30-9 p.m.
Free

Thursday, October 10

Ben Urwand
The Collaboration: Hollywood’s Pact with Hitler
Washington DCJCC
7:30-9 p.m.
$12

Saturday, October 12

Dan Savage
American Savage: Insights, Slights, and Fights on Faith, Sex, Love, and Politics
Foundry United Methodist Church
1500 16th St. NW
8-9 p.m.
$30

Sunday, October 13

Pamela Mayer
”The Great Children’s Read: Bringing Books to Life”
Washington DCJCC
10-11:30 a.m.
$12

Melissa Ford, Bruce Smith
”Local Author Fair: Discover a New Book”
Washington DCJCC
7-8:30 p.m.
Free

Monday, October 14

Allen Salkin
From Scratch: Inside the Food Network
Washington DCJCC
7:30-9 p.m.
$18

Tuesday, October 15

Jonathan Schanzer
State of Failure: Yasser Arafat, Mahmoud Abbas and the Unmaking of the Palestinian State
Washington DCJCC
12-1:30 p.m.
Free

Lawrence Blume, diretor
Screening, Tiger Eyes
Washington DCJCC
7:30-9:30 p.m.
$11.50

Wednesday, October 16

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz
For the Next Generation: A Wake-Up Call to Solving our
Nation’s Problems
The Gerald L. Bernstein Memorial Lecture
Washington DCJCC
7:30-9 p.m.
$25

Events may include discounts or VIP tickets. For more information, call 202-518-9400 or visit washingtondcjcc.org.

Please Leave a Comment