Coverboy: Matt

Water Baby

Photography by Julian Vankim
Published on January 25, 2013, 5:46pm | Comments

Hailing from the Baltimore suburbs, 19-year-old Matt loves the water. He's been swimming for 15 years, today working as a private swim coach and lifeguard on the side. A student at Kent State University in Ohio, Matt is majoring in musical theater with a minor in communications. When he's not hitting the pool or the books, Matt likes dancing, going out to clubs, cooking and travel. Ever the typical Sagittarius, Matt prefers spontaneity and adventure to an orderly routine. He doesn't have a boyfriend, but says he's ''perfectly happy doing what I want.'' Potential suitors will find this is one man who doesn't like being anchored down.

Coverboy: Matt

Coverboy: Matt

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What's on your nightstand?
A Starbucks gift card, a framed photo of me and my best friend, an alarm clock and my iPhone.

What's in your nightstand drawer?
There's no drawer, but underneath I have a pillow.

Where do you keep the condoms and lube?
In my desk drawer, right next to my rainbow duct tape.

What are your television favorites?
American Horror Story, Buck Wild, and the Food Network.

What was your favorite cartoon when you were a kid?
I liked Scooby-Doo. I really liked the Cartoon Network, The Powerpuff Girls and stuff like that. 

Coverboy: Matt

Coverboy: Matt

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What superhero would you be?
Aquaman, because I love the water and would love to be able to breathe underwater.

Who's your greatest influence?
My parents. I love everything they've taught me, and as I've gotten older I respect their opinions and look up to them.

What's your greatest fear?
Spiders and balloons. Especially balloons. I don't like the way they look, I don't like the way they pop, the noise they make – anything. People think it's funny to pop them in my ear, because I'll jump like a little kid.

Pick three people, living or dead, who you think would make the most fascinating dinner guests imaginable.
Ke$ha, because she's crazy, Laura Bell Bundy and Ryan Gosling.

What would you serve?
Mexican food. Anything hot and spicy.

How would you describe your dream guy?
He has to be willing to take risks, be passionate about something – anything, doesn't matter what – be adventurous, and be willing to travel.

Define good in bed.
Someone who's not mechanical. Kinda rough. Someone who keeps it spontaneous.

Who should star in a movie about your life?
Josh Hutcherson as he appeared in The Hunger Games, with blond hair.

Who was your first celebrity crush?
Zac Efron.

Coverboy: Matt

Coverboy: Matt

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

Who gets on your nerves?
Overdramatic people. Lazy people.

If your home was burning, what's the first thing you'd grab while leaving?
My iPhone, because I use it for everything.

What's your biggest turn-on?
Confidence – not arrogance -- and cute eyes.

What's your biggest turn-off?
Bad breath.

What's something you've always wanted to do but haven't yet tried?
Drive cross-country.

What's something you've tried that you never want to do again?
I can't think of an answer. Everything I do, I do for a reason.

Boxers, briefs or other?

Who's your favorite musical artist?
Marina & the Diamonds, but I really like All-American Rejects, too.

What's your favorite website?

What's the most unusual place you've had sex?
A church parking lot.

Coverboy: Matt

Coverboy: Matt

(Photo by Julian Vankim)

What position do you play in the big baseball game of life?
Catcher. And I'm going to win the MVP and go to the All-Star Game.

What's your favorite retail store?
Urban Outfitters.

What's the most you'll spend on a haircut?

What about on shoes?

What's your favorite food to splurge with?
Chipotle burrito, with all the fixings.

What's your favorite season?
Winter. I love cold weather, plus my birthday is in winter. It's Dec. 14.

So that makes you a Sagittarius.
Yes, it does. We're the fun ones. We're spontaneous.

What kind of animal would you be?
A giraffe.

What kind of car would you be?
A Lamborghini? I don't know. I'm not really into cars.

What are you most grateful for?
My friends and the fun, supportive environment that I choose to surround myself with.

What's something you want more of?
Money to do the things I want to do.

State your life philosophy in 10 words or less.
Don't be a pussy. Try everything once and live life.

Call 202-638-6830 to advertise here in Marketplace