Metro Weekly

Here’s every Republican who voted against the Equality Act

Shame on them.

Equality Act
The Equality Act has passed the House for the second time, without the support of most Republicans — Photo: Ted Eytan / Flickr

The U.S. House of Representatives today voted to pass the Equality Act, a landmark piece of legislation that will enshrine discrimination protections for LGBTQ people into federal law.

“We have passed it in the House before — the Equality Act, H.R. 5, to end discrimination against the LGBTQ community,” House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) said at a news conference at the Capitol Thursday morning. “This time, it will be not only passed in the House, but on a path to a signing at the White House. We’re very excited about that.”

It’s the second time that the House has passed the bill, after previously passing the Equality Act in 2019, only for the legislation to die in the Republican-controlled Senate. This iteration of the act is potentially doomed as well, given the balance of power in the Senate, which would require at least 10 Republican senators to join Democrats to advance the bill to a vote.

The Equality Act passed 224-to-206, with all Democrats and only three Republicans — Brian Fitzpatrick (PA), John Katko (NY), and Tom Reed (NY) — voting to support the bill. Curious to know which Republicans shamefully voted against preventing anti-LGBTQ discrimination? We have the full list for you below:


  • Robert Aderholt
  • Mo Brooks
  • Jerry Carl
  • Barry Moore
  • Gary Palmer
  • Mike Rogers


  • Don Young


  • Andy Biggs
  • Paul A. Gosar
  • Debbie Lesko
  • David Schweikert


  • Rick Crawford
  • French Hill
  • Bruce Westerman
  • Steve Womack


  • Ken Calvert
  • Darrell Issa
  • Mike Garcia
  • Young Kim
  • Doug LaMalfa
  • Kevin McCarthy
  • Tom McClintock
  • Devin Nunes
  • Jay Obernolte
  • Michelle Steel
  • David G. Valadao


  • Lauren Boebert
  • Ken Buck
  • Doug Lamborn


  • Gus M. Bilirakis
  • Vern Buchanan
  • Kat Cammack
  • Mario Diaz-Balart
  • Byron Donalds
  • Neal Dunn
  • C. Scott Franklin
  • Matt Gaetz
  • Carlos A. Gimenez
  • Brian Mast
  • Bill Posey
  • John Rutherford
  • Maria Elvira Salazar
  • W. Gregory Steube
  • Michael Waltz
  • Daniel Webster


  • Rick Allen
  • Buddy Carter
  • Andrew S. Clyde
  • A. Drew Ferguson
  • Marjorie Taylor Greene
  • Jody Hice
  • Barry Loudermilk
  • Austin Scott


  • Russ Fulcher
  • Mike Simpson


  • Mike Bost
  • Rodney Davis
  • Darin LaHood
  • Adam Kinzinger
  • Mary E. Miller


  • Jim Banks
  • James Baird
  • Larry Bucshon
  • Trey Hollingsworth
  • Greg Pence
  • Victoria Spartz
  • Jackie Walorski


  • Randy Feenstra
  • Ashley Hinson
  • Mariannette Miller-Meeks


  • Ron Estes
  • Jake LaTurner
  • Tracey Mann


  • Andy Barr
  • James Comer
  • S. Brett Guthrie
  • Thomas Massie
  • Harold Rogers


  • Clay Higgins
  • Garret Graves
  • Mike Johnson
  • Steve Scalise


  • Andy Harris


  • Jack Bergman
  • Bill Huizenga
  • Lisa C. McClain
  • Peter Meijer
  • John Moolenaar
  • Fred Upton
  • Tim Walberg


  • Tom Emmer
  • Michelle Fischbach
  • Jim Hagedorn
  • Pete Stauber


  • Michael Guest
  • Trent Kelly
  • Steven Palazzo


  • Sam Graves
  • Vicky Hartzler
  • Billy Long
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer
  • Jason Smith
  • Ann Wagner


  • Matthew M. Rosendale


  • Don Bacon
  • Jeff Fortenberry
  • Adrian Smith


  • Mark Amodei

New Jersey:

  • Chris Smith
  • Jefferson Van Drew

New Mexico:

  • Yvette Herrell

New York:

  • Andrew R. Garbarino
  • Chris Jacobs
  • Nicole Malliotakis
  • Elise Stefanik
  • Claudia Tenney
  • Lee Zeldin

North Carolina:

  • Dan Bishop
  • Ted Budd
  • Madison Cawthorn
  • Gregory Francis Murphy
  • Virginia Foxx
  • Richard Hudson
  • Patrick T. McHenry
  • David Rouzer

North Dakota:

  • Kelly Armstrong


  • Troy Balderson
  • Steve Chabot
  • Warren Davidson
  • Bob Gibbs
  • Anthony Gonzalez
  • Jim Jordan
  • Bill Johnson
  • David Joyce
  • Robert E. Latta
  • Steve Stivers
  • Michael Turner
  • Brad Wenstrup


  • Stephanie I. Bice
  • Tom Cole
  • Kevin Hern
  • Frank Lucas
  • Markwayne Mullin


  • Cliff Bentz


  • John Joyce
  • Mike Kelly
  • Daniel Meuser
  • Scott Perry
  • Guy Reschenthaler
  • Lloyd Smucker
  • Glenn Thompson

South Carolina:

  • Jeff Duncan
  • Nancy Mace
  • Ralph Norman
  • Tom Rice
  • William Timmons
  • Joe Wilson

South Dakota:

  • Dusty Johnson


  • Timm Burchett
  • Scott DesJarlais
  • Chuck Fleischmann
  • Mark Green
  • Diana Harshbarger
  • David Kustoff
  • John W. Rose


  • Jodey Arrington
  • Brian Babin
  • Kevin Bady
  • Michael Burgess
  • John Carter
  • Michael Cloud
  • Dan Crenshaw
  • Pat Fallon
  • Louie Gohmert
  • Tony Gonzales
  • Lance Gooden
  • Kay Granger
  • Ronny Jackson
  • Michael T. McCaul
  • Troy E. Nehls
  • August Pfluger
  • Chip Roy
  • Pete Sessions
  • Van Taylor
  • Beth Van Duyne
  • Randy Weber
  • Roger Williams


  • John R. Curtis
  • Blake D. Moore
  • Burgess Owens
  • Christ Stewart


  • Ben Cline
  • Bob Good
  • Morgan Griffith
  • Robert J. Wittman


  • Jaime Herrera Beutler
  • Cathy McMorris Rodgers
  • Dan Newhous

West Virginia:

  • David McKinley
  • Carol Miller
  • Alex Mooney


  • Scott Fitzgerald
  • Mike Gallagher
  • Glenn Grothman
  • Bryan Steil
  • Thomas P. Tiffany


  • Liz Cheney

Yup. That’s it. Shame on them.

Correction: An earlier version of this post identified Georgia’s David Scott as a Republican. He is very much a Democrat and voted in favor of the Equality Act. We regret the error.

Read More:

House passes Equality Act, a landmark LGBTQ rights bill

Marjorie Taylor Greene calls Equality Act an “evil” attack on “God’s creation”

Facebook removes video of congresswoman hanging up Transgender Pride flag, declaring it “hate speech”

Gay DC news anchor suspended for tweet about obese people receiving COVID-19 vaccine

Support Metro Weekly’s Journalism

These are challenging times for news organizations. And yet it’s crucial we stay active and provide vital resources and information to both our local readers and the world. So won’t you please take a moment and consider supporting Metro Weekly with a membership? For as little as $5 a month, you can help ensure Metro Weekly magazine and remain free, viable resources as we provide the best, most diverse, culturally-resonant LGBTQ coverage in both the D.C. region and around the world. Memberships come with exclusive perks and discounts, your own personal digital delivery of each week’s magazine (and an archive), access to our Member's Lounge when it launches this fall, and exclusive members-only items like Metro Weekly Membership Mugs and Tote Bags! Check out all our membership levels here and please join us today!